BROADER UNDERSTANDING: BENEFITS OF UNITED NATIONS INVOLVEMENT

Recent participants in United Nations conferences in New York City share their experiences:

Zarmina Kochi“Thanks to the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur, I was able to present a speech at the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women. I was able to speak with confidence on an issue I strongly believe in – the importance of educating immigrant women. I hope that in some small way I made a difference to those in the room hearing my speech. This opportunity not only allowed my voice to be heard by others but also enhanced my understanding and views on women’s roles in our current society. There were topics covering violence against women, disability unfairness, and many more. It encourages me to know there are countless other people helping out with the needs of those less fortunate.” – Zarmina Kochi, child refugee from the Afghan-Russian war and now an adult living in California

Rosario Campos“Going to the UN gave me an opportunity to share how students feel when they leave their homeland. You can’t use words to explain how it feels to be a child in a new country. When I read my speech, I felt good because I knew that telling my story would help other children to know that they are not alone. I wanted adults to understand that not only they have difficulties, but we immigrant children also have our own troubles. I can’t thank you enough for giving me the opportunity to share my story at the UN Commission on the Status of Women.”  – Rosario Campos, child immigrant from Mexico now in the 8th grade in California

 

Rebeca Spires“This was my second experience of participating in the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues. I made some contacts that I hope will be mutually helpful and picked up useful material. While it is not possible to participate in all events, there is much to see and do and many people to touch base with. The UN is beautiful, marvelous, fascinating, has grandeur, morality. I am proud and pleased we Sisters of Notre Dame are represented there and I hope we maintain that presence always.” – Sr. Rebeca Spires, ministers with indigenous people in Brazil

Small acts, when multiplied by millions of people, can change the world.
Howard Zinn

Leave a Reply

